The flora of La Crosse County

by Nontelle, Deon M.

Abstract (Summary)
This thesis deals with the flora of La Crosse County. It is primarily a revised account of the native and introduced vascular plants in the county. Situated in the "Driftless Area " , or unglaciated portion of the state, the area provides a variety of habitats, and a relatively large flora. This work is based on collections made in 1971 and 1972. During these years, collection areas across the county were revisited from April to October. 3200 individual collections have been made and identified. This information was supplemented by viewing the collections made by other individuals that are deposited in the herbaria of the University of Wisconsin - La Crosse, University of Wisconsin - Madison, and the University of Iowa - Iowa City. 950 species representing 120 families have been confirmfor the county. The largest family represented is the Compositae with 113 species and the largest genus is Carex with 70 species.
Bibliographical Information:


School:University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire

School Location:USA - Wisconsin

Source Type:Master's Thesis

Keywords:botany wisconsin


Date of Publication:

© 2009 All Rights Reserved.