What I wanna be in here

by Shin, Wonhee

Abstract (Summary)
The piece What I wanna be in here is for two flutes, two clarinets in Bb, two bassoons, one trumpet in C, one horn in F, one trombone, one tuba, one marimba, one violin, one viola, one violoncello, and one contrabass. I wrote the piece when I was exhausted by the pieces which are complex, dense, and extremely dissonance. The piece uses only four notes which are E, F, F sharp, and G.. In addition, all notes are in the down beat. It seems to the piece a quite simple. However, I vary the simple motive with dynamic change rapidly, and tempo change. The piece gradually speeds up to the middle of the piece, and then in the latter part, the tempo rapidly speeds down, so finally the tempo is back to the beginning tempo of the piece. Moreover, the rhythm of brass part helps the speed change of the piece. The duration of brass notes is gradually extended and shortened.
Bibliographical Information:


School:University of Cincinnati

School Location:USA - Ohio

Source Type:Master's Thesis

Keywords:wind symphony


Date of Publication:01/01/2005

© 2009 All Rights Reserved.