The Study of Piano Concerto for Left-Hand in Single Movement

by Shen, Jun-Nan

Abstract (Summary)
The history of the development of the piano works for left-hand has spanned for more than one hundred and fifty years, and the piano concertos for left-hand, which made special historical significance in the concerts, were mostly written for one-arm pianist Paul Wittgenstein. The purpose of the thesis is the study of the stylistic features of one-movement piano concertos for one-hand, including Concerto pour la main gauche by Ravel, Parergon and Panathenaenzug by Richard Struass, and Diversions by Britten. The discussions contain the structure, form, orchestration, and performing technique. The contents of the thesis includes four chapters, in addition to the introduction. The first chapter discusses the general historical background for the creation of left-hand playing, and the development of the creation of the piano works for left hand. The second chapter is basic literature research for the piano concertos for left hand, and introduces the creative background to four piano concertos for left hand. The third chapter emphasizes the detailed analysis of the piano concertos for left hand of the selected works of Ravel, Richard Strauss and Britten. In the four left-hand piano concertos, Concerto pour la main gauche and the Parergon are designed in multi-sectional stracyure, the Panathenaenzug is planted for a symphonic studies in Passacaglia form and the Diversions is in a form of thematic variations in which each variation is characteristic in different title. In addition, composers frequently make use of the different instrumental colors of orchestra to replenish the lacks of rich acoustics of the piano playing, including accompaniment, support of harmony, momentum and dynamic of sounding expression. Richard Struass¡¦s Panathenaenzug employs the glockenspiel and celesta to enrich the sounding expression. The difficulties of left-hand piano techniques are variable; Ravel use the different and difficult piano skills in his two candenzas, Richard Struass¡¦s Panathenaenzug is also collected left-hand piano techniques in it, and Britten¡¦s Diversions is in different point of view that the composer employs the whole register of eighty-eight keys to makes this piano concerto sounding rich.
Bibliographical Information:


School:National Sun Yat-Sen University

School Location:China - Taiwan

Source Type:Master's Thesis

Keywords:piano concerto for left hand


Date of Publication:07/27/2000

© 2009 All Rights Reserved.