The Solo Piano Music of Andrzej Dutkiewicz

by Allen, Christine Burczyk

Abstract (Summary)
This purpose of this study was to examine the solo piano compositions of Polish composer and pianist, Andrzej Dutkiewicz (1942- ). These works include Toccatina (1969), Suite for Piano (1970), Three Sketches in Retrospect (1985), and À-la (1986). Although his compositions have been performed in festivals and concerts, there has been little written about his works. This is the first academic research presented by an American scholar. This monograph is divided into three chapters as follows: Chapter One includes background and biographical information on Dutkiewicz; Chapter Two presents a comprehensive analysis of À-la from an analytical and stylistic perspective; Chapter Three focuses on Toccatina, Suite for Piano, and Three Sketches in Retrospect; Chapter Four offers a brief conclusion. Due to the fact that À-la is Dutkiewicz's sole unpublished composition, an edition is included in Appendix A. This edition was made with the permission and supervision of the composer.
Bibliographical Information:

Advisor:Willis Delony; Jeffrey Perry; Victoria Johnson; Michael Gurt; David Culbert

School:Louisiana State University in Shreveport

School Location:USA - Louisiana

Source Type:Master's Thesis



Date of Publication:04/03/2006

© 2009 All Rights Reserved.