Abstract (Summary)
Residue is a collection of seven miniatures for flute and clarinet, with percussion in the first and last movements. The concept of the piece is derived from its title - each miniature is literally the “residue” of the movement that precedes it. As such, “6.” contains six pitches (F#, G#, A#, B, C, and C#), the second movement “5.” retains five of the original six pitches, the fourth movement retains four of the pitches from “5.” and so on. The final miniature is an exact repetition of movement “6.” with one exception – the performers are not to produce the written pitches. The extra-musical sounds so often unnoticed in performance (breath, key clicks, the percussive nature of the notated articulation, etc…) are brought into the foreground. As the percussion part is non-pitched, it is notated as piano in this movement to mimic the resonance of a forte attack.
Bibliographical Information:


School:University of Cincinnati

School Location:USA - Ohio

Source Type:Master's Thesis

Keywords:process of subtraction


Date of Publication:01/01/2006

© 2009 All Rights Reserved.