Part I: Representationalism in selected twentieth century compositions about the sea. Part II: sentenia, sea music for soprano, woodwinds, brass, and percussion

by Jenkins, Susan Elaine

Abstract (Summary)
Sententia is a four movement work for soprano, woodwinds, brass, and percussion which represents various aspects of the sea in sound. The document, Representationalism in Selected Twentieth Century Compositions about the Sea, intended as an introduction to Sententia, is a study of compositional techniques used in Sententia as well as in three representational works about the sea: La Mer by Claude Debussy; Ancient Voices of Children, second movement, by George Crumb; and Storm from Four Sea Interludes by Benjamin Britten.
Bibliographical Information:


School:The Ohio State University

School Location:USA - Ohio

Source Type:Master's Thesis



Date of Publication:01/01/1984

© 2009 All Rights Reserved.