by Stanbridge, Bryan Scott

Abstract (Summary)
Magnificat for mezzo-soprano and chamber ensemble is a setting of the Canticle of Mary lasting approximately twelve minutes. It contains three main sections, surrounded by interludes, an introduction and coda. The work is scored for flute, B-flat clarinet, bassoon, C trumpet, trombone, two percussionists, violin, viola, violoncello, double bass and mezzo-soprano. The main sections contain text taken from Luke 1:46-55. The work's material emulates periods of music history from Gregorian chant through the contemporary time by using methods of texture, rhythm and orchestration rather than any reliance on harmonic or melodic style. The melodic lines are based on pitch-class sets. While the sets may combine to form scales, they were not used to imply functional harmony. The harmonies are mostly a byproduct of the linear aspects of the piece. The piece is rhythmically complex, with interior rhythms reflecting on the work's larger-scale formal structure.
Bibliographical Information:


School:Bowling Green State University

School Location:USA - Ohio

Source Type:Master's Thesis

Keywords:magnificat canticles of mary chamber ensemble mezzo soprano


Date of Publication:01/01/2006

© 2009 All Rights Reserved.