by Hangartner, Garth Jerod

Abstract (Summary)
in dark mountain hollows is a trio for violin, clarinet, and piano and consists of ten movements. Each movement is concise, focused, and based on one or two musical ideas. While the movements are self-contained, they do function within the larger dramatic scope of the work. The titles for each movement portray images of winter in Alaska, suggesting cold, death, darkness, nature, and Eskimo mysticism. The goal of each movement is to musically represent the imagery in the title. All harmonic and melodic materials are derived from a thirteen chord progression patterned after the Renaissance composer Orlando de Lassus. The original was transformed by a series of panels until a new progression was created that retained the archaic sound of Lassus, but was newly composed. Additional material beyond tertian harmony was constructed from the superimposition of the pseudo-Lassus and its tritone mirror. These composite chords were then treated in a horizontal fashion and manipulated through rotating pitch cells. The construction of this work makes use of compositional panels. Movements II and IV are each unique, while the Prelude and Postlude, movements I and VI, III and V, and Interludes I and II constitute the panel-pairs. The use of panels provides the work with a cyclic nature, and aids in stability through repetition. The goal of this composition was to create a work in a 20 th century idiom that would be suitable and appropriate for general audiences. Tertian harmonies and strong visual images were used to provide the listener with a solid and familiar grounding within the context avant-garde harmonies, textures, and gestures.
Bibliographical Information:


School:University of Cincinnati

School Location:USA - Ohio

Source Type:Master's Thesis

Keywords:trio violin clarinet and piano


Date of Publication:01/01/2001

© 2009 All Rights Reserved.