Game for four cello [electronic resource] /

by Yang, Heeyoung; Theses and, OhioLINK Electronic

Abstract (Summary)
This ten movement piece is written for four cellos. The title GAME refers to the relationships between four cellos throughout the music, as well as the manipulation of the suggestive titles of ten movements each of which differ in mood. The tonal center of the each movement is taken from the title, GAME (G, A, E, and uncertain note, M, chosen by the composer). My compositional points of departure were the musical lines and the connection between the four same instruments in the third movement ECHO, written for a class in last winter. All musical languages used in the piece are varied in moods and textures with the different kinds of timbres and sonorities of western string instruments with their own tonal centers from the main title "GAME", and then two additional movements which exhibit the recurrence of the presented melody and the synthesis of all the musical materials used through the whole piece.
Bibliographical Information:


School:University of Cincinnati

School Location:USA - Ohio

Source Type:Master's Thesis

Keywords:university of cincinnati


Date of Publication:

© 2009 All Rights Reserved.